All For A Story

20131212-211859.jpg

Title: All For A Story
Author: Allison Pittman
Published: October 1, 2013
Publisher: Tyndale House
Pages: 354

———————————–

Monica Brisbane loves being a modem girl in the Roaring Twenties. Her job writing a gossip column takes her to all the local speakeasies in Washington D. C. and she loves dancing the night away scoping put new stories for her column. However, her future takes an uncertain turn when the owner of Capitol Chatter passes away, leaving Monica what will happen to her job and her beloved lifestyle.

Max Moore might hold the position of editor-in-chief for evangelist Aimee Semple McPherson’s paper, the Bridal Call, but it’s clear that Aimee calls all the shots. So when Max finds out that his great uncle has passed away and left him all his earthly possessions, Max resigns and moves to Washington D.C. to hopefully become a real editor-in-chief. He tries to clean up the scandalous paper and infuse it with his own values, but he’s soon bumping heads with the equally determined Monica Brisbane.

With Max’s guidance Monica goes on her most challenging assignment yet, infiltrating and reporting on the Anti-Flirt Society. Reluctant at first, Monica meets and mi goes with the girls but soon begins to doubt the wisdom of her flirtatious ways and when romance starts to blossom between her and Max, Monica must choose between the lifestyle the club chooses or the lifestyle she lived for so long.

Will Monica ever change her party and flirtatious lifestyle or will she continue down the path of destruction? Will Max trade everything for Monica or will he be able to convince Monica that there is a life without speakeasies and flirting? Will Max be able to turn the Capitol Chatter into a respectable paper or will he lose the fight against immorality? Can Monica change her ways or is she forever a party girl?
—————————-

Due to my opinion of Allison Pittman’s last novel, I wasn’t expecting much out of this book. I fully expected to struggle through this one like the last and hate it at the end. I didn’t. I actually enjoyed this one. Though my opinion of the enigmatic Aimee Semple McPherson hasn’t budged an inch, I did enjoy the plot line for this and how radically different it was from the previous book in this series. I think Allison Pittman did a much better job with this book than the last.

This book had a romance! And a fairly good one at that. The character of Monica is uniquely lovable from the get-go and Max’s serious nature didn’t seem like it would mesh with Monica’s but somehow the author managed to craft a romance that was sweet and lovable. Though it wasn’t the best romance I’ve ever read, it was definitely welcomed compared to the completely confusing disaster of a semi-romance in the last book.

Usually I don’t love women crusaders or women evangelist ever in a story, but I loved Alice Reighly and her Anti-Flirt campaign, probably because even though some of her rules are a bit stiff and outrageous, the general idea is one I follow everyday and never thought twice about it. It basically encourages women to not encourage the bad behavior of men by flirting back or making light of it. I think the idea is one every woman should consider to follow.

The story of this one was more engaging and felt less like I was watching a horrible tragedy happen right before my eyes, thankfully in that story the accident never happened but it still left a sour mark for me. In this story, there were moments of disappointment or like it might go down the disastrous path again but it pulled out of those situations and was actually a pretty nice story. I would’ve liked to have seen more of a transformation in Monica but part of me felt like this was a different look at how some people come to Christ.

This author gave me a much better story with this or and made me very glad that I didn’t throw out all hope with the last book. Though I still don’ love the radical type style that this author chooses, I think I’m becoming more accustomed to it and haven’t given up hope yet of finding an amazing book by her. This book was good but I don’t recommend it for just anyone.

Overall, I enjoyed this book a lot more than the previous book by her but I’ still not sold on her writing just yet. This book is perfect for fans of Allison Pittman or fans of the Roaring Twenties. Keep this book away from your children this one is definitely not recommended for anyone other than adults. I give this book a four out of five.

*I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All opinions expressed are my own.*

Advertisements

Words Spoken True

20120221-173612.jpg

Title: Words Spoken True
Author: Ann H. Gabhart
Publisher: Revell
Pages: 368
Released: February 1, 2012

————————————

Practically raised in her father’s newspaper office, Adriane Darcy has ink flowing in her veins. With their paper the leading paper in 1855, she can’t imagine life without the clatter of the printing press and the race to publish the important news first. Life somehow takes a turn for the worse and now Adriane is finding it harder to believe that her future will be anything like she envisioned, but she is willing to sacrifice to help her father get out of debt. If only it didn’t require so much.

The Darcy newspaper is threatened even more when the brash young editor, Blake Garrett, takes over a competing newspaper, his controversial new style threatens to steal all of the Tribune’s readership. When Adriane and Blake meet at a benefit, the sparks that fly between them are hard to ignore. However, Blake is the enemy, and Adriane is already engaged to the son of a powerful business and a man she doesn’t love.

When Blake stops at nothing to get the story and the girl, will Adriane be able to go through with a marriage she feels is wrong? Will Blake be able to convince her that he is the one she loves before she says ‘I do’ to the wrong man?
—————————–

When I picked up this book to read it I was hoping for a good book, but I wasn’t expecting a lot, as is the way with most historical romances I pick to read. However, Ann H. Gabhart surprised me with a lovely romance story with plenty of conflict and a dash of suspense. It’s all mixed together perfectly and makes a truly enjoyable read.

This author made a book that makes you remember it long after you put the book down. The detail and historical accuracies are spot on and make this book so realistic that it’s actually easy to forget that this is a work of fiction and not real. The historical setting with the conflict all combines to make a gripping and realistic story.

The suspense in the novel was just a side story and a source of major conflict later in the novel, but for most of the book it’s just a background conflict that you have a feeling will cause trouble later on. Naturally, with enough clues, I guessed the murderer, however, the clues started adding up only after the three-quarter mark. So for most of the book the murderer is a complete and utter mystery.

The romance in this book is something hard to explain. The romance starts with a mutual attraction that Adriane is trying hard to deny. For some reason Blake is determined to win her heart and stop her from marrying Stanley. I think it personifies love at first sight. This author made an innocent romance until about halfway through the book. Things start to change at that point with Stanley and Blake. Stanley is showing more and more lust for her and Blake is determined to win her over. This author is very good about passion. She keeps the passion innocent between the main couple until after the wedding. Making the book an example for romance I think that all people should follow.

The conflict throughout this book is constant. It never really let’s up and is a constant stress to all characters involved. The conflict, though it is awful, it brings the Adriane and Blake closer together and stronger. The conflict is so bad that it takes up most of the book, not the romance, not that I minded. Ghosts of the past make up nasty conflicts and trouble throughout the book for all characters and it really makes this book an exciting read.

Overall, this book is incredibly written and thought out with a great romance and conflict. It’s perfect for historical fiction lovers and those that love a good romance. I know I look forward to more books by this author. I give this book a four out of five.

I received this complimentary copy of this book specifically for this review. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.