All For A Story

20131212-211859.jpg

Title: All For A Story
Author: Allison Pittman
Published: October 1, 2013
Publisher: Tyndale House
Pages: 354

———————————–

Monica Brisbane loves being a modem girl in the Roaring Twenties. Her job writing a gossip column takes her to all the local speakeasies in Washington D. C. and she loves dancing the night away scoping put new stories for her column. However, her future takes an uncertain turn when the owner of Capitol Chatter passes away, leaving Monica what will happen to her job and her beloved lifestyle.

Max Moore might hold the position of editor-in-chief for evangelist Aimee Semple McPherson’s paper, the Bridal Call, but it’s clear that Aimee calls all the shots. So when Max finds out that his great uncle has passed away and left him all his earthly possessions, Max resigns and moves to Washington D.C. to hopefully become a real editor-in-chief. He tries to clean up the scandalous paper and infuse it with his own values, but he’s soon bumping heads with the equally determined Monica Brisbane.

With Max’s guidance Monica goes on her most challenging assignment yet, infiltrating and reporting on the Anti-Flirt Society. Reluctant at first, Monica meets and mi goes with the girls but soon begins to doubt the wisdom of her flirtatious ways and when romance starts to blossom between her and Max, Monica must choose between the lifestyle the club chooses or the lifestyle she lived for so long.

Will Monica ever change her party and flirtatious lifestyle or will she continue down the path of destruction? Will Max trade everything for Monica or will he be able to convince Monica that there is a life without speakeasies and flirting? Will Max be able to turn the Capitol Chatter into a respectable paper or will he lose the fight against immorality? Can Monica change her ways or is she forever a party girl?
—————————-

Due to my opinion of Allison Pittman’s last novel, I wasn’t expecting much out of this book. I fully expected to struggle through this one like the last and hate it at the end. I didn’t. I actually enjoyed this one. Though my opinion of the enigmatic Aimee Semple McPherson hasn’t budged an inch, I did enjoy the plot line for this and how radically different it was from the previous book in this series. I think Allison Pittman did a much better job with this book than the last.

This book had a romance! And a fairly good one at that. The character of Monica is uniquely lovable from the get-go and Max’s serious nature didn’t seem like it would mesh with Monica’s but somehow the author managed to craft a romance that was sweet and lovable. Though it wasn’t the best romance I’ve ever read, it was definitely welcomed compared to the completely confusing disaster of a semi-romance in the last book.

Usually I don’t love women crusaders or women evangelist ever in a story, but I loved Alice Reighly and her Anti-Flirt campaign, probably because even though some of her rules are a bit stiff and outrageous, the general idea is one I follow everyday and never thought twice about it. It basically encourages women to not encourage the bad behavior of men by flirting back or making light of it. I think the idea is one every woman should consider to follow.

The story of this one was more engaging and felt less like I was watching a horrible tragedy happen right before my eyes, thankfully in that story the accident never happened but it still left a sour mark for me. In this story, there were moments of disappointment or like it might go down the disastrous path again but it pulled out of those situations and was actually a pretty nice story. I would’ve liked to have seen more of a transformation in Monica but part of me felt like this was a different look at how some people come to Christ.

This author gave me a much better story with this or and made me very glad that I didn’t throw out all hope with the last book. Though I still don’ love the radical type style that this author chooses, I think I’m becoming more accustomed to it and haven’t given up hope yet of finding an amazing book by her. This book was good but I don’t recommend it for just anyone.

Overall, I enjoyed this book a lot more than the previous book by her but I’ still not sold on her writing just yet. This book is perfect for fans of Allison Pittman or fans of the Roaring Twenties. Keep this book away from your children this one is definitely not recommended for anyone other than adults. I give this book a four out of five.

*I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All opinions expressed are my own.*

Advertisements

The Power Of An Ordinary Prayer and He Knows Your Name

20130910-184425.jpg

20130910-184446.jpg

Title: The Power Of An Ordinary Prayer
Author: Michael W. Smith with Tom Williams
Publisher: Worthy Press
Published: July 2, 2013
Pages: 128

Title: He Knows Your Name
Author: Travis Cottrell
Publisher: Worthy Press
Published: July 2, 2013
Pages: 160

——————————————–

In these two books, discover the power of prayer, how the joy of God’s transformation can truly change the world, and how to trust and worship God in the even the darkest of moments in your life. Each book delves into a different topic each just as important and helpful to any Christian’s life and walk. They help you follow and surrender.

Join two award winning recording artists as they teach all that they’ve learned in their travels and walks not only as musicians, but most importantly, as Christians. In their books they explain what The Lord has taught them and what He can teach you. Their wisdom is inspired and is guaranteed to teach you some things about God and your relationship with Him.
—————————————–

Because I got these two books as a group and because they’re both small gift books, I decided to clump together both reviews into one.

I got these two books because they are different than what I normally read and I’m glad that I got the chance and that I accepted them. The reason I really got them was because of the authors, however I didn’t expect to get the large dose of wisdom and advice from each one. Michael W. Smith’s book had a lot of good stories and wisdom about prayer and encouraging those around you and Travis Cottrell’s book was chock full of what to do when times seem like they’ll never get better. Both had content that I really needed to hear and incorporate in my spiritual walk.

The stories in each book tugged on heart strings and showed the kind of faith that we all want. Mostly those stories made me want to do exactly what they were suggesting and I was amazed at how much faith some of them had. Also, the stories also made me view some points at different angles and opened my eyes to a different way of thinking about something. It was amazing.

The best part of both, though was the teachings. Each said things that hit home in many ways. Even if I’ve already heard something similar before, the way they put it made me get it in a whole new way. Both definitely followed the Lord’s calling and their books are definitely something He put on their hearts to do. Despite their size neither of these books feel rushed or empty and I really learned something from each. I would like to maybe see them be expanded, though.

These books really make you dig deep inside and evaluate your relationship with Christ and help you possibly have a stronger relationship with your Creator. I’m in love with these books and I highly recommend them. I look forward to seeing what else each recording artist has for the future, book wise. I fully intend to read more from each of them.

Overall, I loved both of these and fully intend to read more from each. These are great for anyone looking to improve their relationship with Christ. This book is best for adults but discerning teens can benefit from these books. I give both of these books five out of five.

Even though this is a joint book review, they’re pretty small and I ran out of things to say so I’m going to cut this one short.

*I received a complimentary copy of these books in exchange for this review. All opinions expressed are my own.*