Interview w/ Mesu Andrews

In honor of Mesu Andrew’s new book release, Love’s Sacred Song, I was blessed with the opportunity to use my first author interview on her. This is her second book and Revell has signed on two more for March of 2013 and 2014, so if you like her work it’ll be a long wait but completely worth the wait.

Here’s the interview with Mesu:

What made you want to write a historical fiction novel set in Biblical times?
My first love has always been Bible study, and I first tried to publish an allegorical study on Song of Songs but ran into repeated roadblocks because I have no formal credentialing. My friend suggested (dare I say nagged) that I write the allegory in biblical fiction style, and a wise editor suggested I started reading heavily in the genre if I planned to write in it. I accepted both tidbits of wisdom and am forever grateful.
Is there anything that you want readers to grasp from this book?
Absolutely! But my agenda for the book may be different than the Spirit’s still, small voice. It’s my prayer that everyone who reads Love’s Sacred Song will be stirred by the overwhelming power of God’s love, but the greater goal is that readers will be driven back to God’s Word. As a Bible teacher at heart, I long for Scripture to speak to people as they read it. The Bible is God’s personal love letter to each one of us, and it’s my desire that reading Love’s Sacred Song will in some way open a new dialogue between the reader and the Beloved.
How much of this book is realistic?
My standard answer is: As much as possible! I maintain the details of Scripture; then work in the historical data; and lastly, I fill in with imagination. The names of Solomon’s advisors, the concept of twelve new districts, Solomon’s Ammonite wife and firstborn son—all these are scripturally accurate. Solomon’s blotting out the tribal divisions and some of King Hiram’s involvement was gained through historical research. The Sons of Judah, the Daughters of Jerusalem (as individuals rather than a non-descript chorus), a secret conspiracy—these were fiction. Pulling all three levels of information together in a believable story is accomplished through much prayer and trembling!
Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?
I still feel “new” on my second book, so if it’s okay, I’ll mention a couple of other authors who have only two biblical fiction releases out. Roseanna White and Sandi Rog have recently published their second books in this genre and have done a fabulous job. White’s Jewel of Persia gives an amazing twist on the Queen Esther story, writing from the perspective of another Jewish girl taken as Xerxes wife before Esther. Rog’s second novel, Yashua’s Bridge, is a wonderful story about the early church, a sequel to her debut novel, The Master’s Wall. Both are excellent writers and good friends.

Do you have any tips or advice for prospective writers?
Keep writing. Do it because you must, not because you want to get rich or be famous. I can testify that even after you’re published, the rich and famous thing is a long-shot! Ha!

When I stopped writing to get published, and started writing because I loved writing, my writing changed. I changed.

As Christ followers, we ultimately write for an audience of One. Granted, we must write to the market trends, but as I look back on that writers’ conference when my original manuscript was picked up, I realize it was more of a timing thing than a talent thing. Revell was looking for a biblical fiction manuscript at that conference. God knew I’d been working on it for seven years. If I had stopped after six years, another biblical fiction author would have gotten that contract. Christ-followers can rest in the knowledge that our future is guided by the loving Shepherd of our hearts.

Thanks so much for giving me the opportunity to share a bit with your readers! If anyone would like to keep in touch, they can visit my website @ http://www.mesuandrews.com/. Or sign up for free weekly e-devotionals @ http://www.mesuandrews.com/deep-o-tionals-2/acts-of-the-apostles/. Also, I’ve added pictures of a potential “Solomon” and “Arielah” to my Pinterest Board for Character Faces…check it out and leave a comment! Or give your own suggestions!

Thanks again to Mesu Andrews, who took time out of her hectic, deadline filled day to answer my questions. If you guys want get in touch with Mesu Andrews please follow the links above and be sure to check those “Solomon” and “Arielah” pictures and state your opinion.

My review for this book should be up in a few days so stay tuned for that. Thanks for reading this interview.

One thought on “Interview w/ Mesu Andrews

Comments are closed.